Blame it on the Boss in Roma

Bully pulpit takes on a new meaning

From Cafeteria Catholic to Anna Quindlen Catholic

let_them_eat cake_7

  Are you changing pews?

Best selling writer, Anna Quindlen, spoke to Terry Gross on NPR’s Fresh Air on

April 23, 2012 about her book, Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake

www.amazon.com/Lots-Candles-Plenty-CakeQuindlen/

Of the many topics discussed during the interview:

Leaving The Catholic Church

“…In Lots of Candles, Quindlen frankly describes …. her reasoning for recently leaving the Catholic Church:

“The pedophilia scandals, the church’s reaction to them, and their constant obsession with gynecology — taken together at a certain point, it was probably two or three years ago, I said, ‘Enough,’ ” she says. “Every time I sit in the pew I ratify this behavior, and I’m not going to ratify it anymore.”

Quindlen says she realizes that she doesn’t need a service or Mass to get what she needs out of her faith.

“I think not going anymore made me realize how much of the good had been imprinted deep inside me, and how much of the rest I didn’t need,” she says. “I don’t have to listen to the Gospel on Sunday to know the stories of the New Testament. They inform so much of what I write that they’re practically like a news scrim that goes through my brain 24/7. And I don’t have to listen to a sermon to know what to think or feel about them. It’s almost as if I absorbed completely what mattered most to me, and the rest could go.”

But Quindlen says she still relies on her faith.

“I still walk around some mornings and look at the world and think, ‘Oh my God. This is so fantastic, and there’s so many opportunities to do good and to be happy,’ ” she says. “And I think that comes from some deep-faith place that started in religion and now transcends it.”

decoration-21871__180

~@~@~@~@~@~@~@~

And I say:

The Old Boys Network in Rome

The Red Hat Society in Rome doesn’t care about me,

my mother, sisters, daughters, girl cousins or,

really, any of the Catholic Women in America.

We are not invited…included…involved.

We are the legions of women who volunteer, show up, answer the phones, pick up the clutter, administer to the sick, clean and decorate their parish churches, who distribute ashes and communion, who organize, support, give to …

who never have been, never will be – are never invited to the party.

bishopsmeeting1alleee

The Old Boys Can Have Their  Roman Holiday

and

Legions of Ladies are Leaving

At first we were Cafeteria Catholics... we slid our trays around Church teachings, the past Pope’s inane or egregious edicts…  we picked – we selected – we decided what facets of the Church teachings and proclamations from Rome to ignore.

 Year after year, week after week, we bowed our heads and now open our eyes –

and loudly acknowledge, we are even more dis-heartened and disillusioned.

Do we turn away and become Anna Quindlen Catholics?

#.#

Many of us were Baptized, had our First Communions, were Confirmed and married in the same parish church.

We attended Catholic school and, at home, peppered our sentences with,   “Yeah, but, Sister said…”

In college, we dramatically “Fell away from the Church”  code for: We didn’t go to Sunday Mass, we skipped confession, took the Pill, and paid no heed to the old guys in dresses in Rome.

With marriage and kids, some of us circled around, looking again at the Church seeking out a smarter, hipper parish. A Herculean task.

Some of us paid the big bucks and sent our kids to Catholic school and eventually, watched them  ‘fall away.’

Guilty of highly deliberate mythmaking

Floods of news articles about Catholic priests and the pedophile scandal tainted the Church. Could it be true?  Daily stories about The Papal Attack on Women Religious sicken and dis-hearten us.

Ratzinger’s good friend, Levada in Portland and Mahoney of Los Angeles, knowingly turned a blind eye. Law in Boston, an egregious offender, hid behind his cassock – in full denial- while the list of the abused burgeoned. Cardninal Sins.

Rome looked the other way.

Websites with the names, dates, and parishes of the pedophiles multiplied.

Again, Rome looked away, looked around, would not admit fault in the ranks… although tens of thousands enraged Catholics protested.

And, we are Falling Away Again

.#*#.

“Every time I sit in the pew I ratify this behavior, and I’m not going to ratify it anymore.”

Anna Quindlen

Will we see Pink Smoke over the Vatican?




Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “From Cafeteria Catholic to Anna Quindlen Catholic

  1. Cindy La Ferle on said:

    I’ve been a devoted fan of Anna Quindlen’s for years, and wondered when she would make this announcement. She’s very brave, and I respect and admire her for taking a stand on this huge issue… I am sure she’ll be taking some heat for it.

  2. Mary Lou L. S. on said:

    Dear Anna,
    My friend had read your thoughts on being catholic and suggested I read it.

    I was born catholic and proceeded to attend all-girl catholic grammar school, high school and college(College of Our Lady of the Elms in Chicopee MA-50 years ago) I married an Irish catholic. I was a sweet innocent little Italian girl. We have four children. I gave it my all living with a college professor who was abusive to me and my children. Praying that God would “cure” him and we would live happily ever after.
    Thank God I woke up and left at 65 after 43 years of marriage. During my recovery from PSTD, I recognized that the catholic church was no different than my marriage only they covered their abuse with CANNON LAW.

    I describe the hierarchy of the catholic church as , sociopathic, narcissistic, hypocritical liars.

    I grew up afraid of my own shadow. Today I stand tall and know that God lives in me and with me. My church happens when I am kind to myself, my family, my friends and strangers. My church happens when I volunteer weekly at a soup kitchen or sit with someone who is dying at Hospice.

    The catholic church is all about MONEY and will do anything to get it. Where did they get the money to purchase the Crystal Cathedral in Anaheim, CA? My pastor is an arrogant, aloof and pompous hypocrite.
    When I do go to church it is the opportunity to greet friends.

    I plan to purchase you book as soon as I finish this email. I plan to recommend to my book club. We are a group of catholic women ready to start a revolution.

    Mary Lou Smith
    Scarborough, Maine

  3. Reblogged this on Blame it on the Boss in Roma and commented:

    Sliding my tray…. past the tripe and the gruel…..a Cafeteria Catholic

Leave a Reply

