Blame it on the Boss in Roma

Bully pulpit takes on a new meaning

Surprising news: Rome Fires Fr Roy- Why?

imagesMohter TLet Women be Priests-  Fr RoyimagesBWhireiSr PAt Farrellimageshnusn nowimagesdayGala2010ChapelAngelAgirlsimagessimonefr roy

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/03/21/opinion/my-prayer-let-women-be-priests.

“AFTER serving as a Roman Catholic priest for 40 years, I was expelled from the priesthood last November because of my public support for the ordination of women.

Catholic priests say that the call to be a priest comes from God. As a young priest, I began to ask myself and my fellow priests: “Who are we, as men, to say that our call from God is authentic, but God’s call to women is not?” Isn’t our all-powerful God, who created the cosmos, capable of empowering a woman to be a priest?

Let’s face it. The problem is not with God, but with an all-male clerical culture that views women as lesser than men. Though I am not optimistic, I pray that the newly elected Pope Francis will rethink this antiquated and unholy doctrine.

I am 74 years old. I first felt God calling me to be a priest when I was serving in the Navy in Vietnam. I was accepted into the Maryknoll Fathers and Brothers in New York and was ordained in 1972. After working with the poor of Bolivia for five years, I returned to the United States. In my years of ministry, I met many devout Catholic women who told me about their calling to the priesthood….”BIG angel

New York Times Opinion
March 21,
imagesroger

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Surprising news: Rome Fires Fr Roy- Why?

  1. Martina on said:

    Thank you for the great gift of you vocation and life of service. Thank you for steadfast faith and witness to the gospel. I pray with you in joyful hope for the day when their eyes shall be opened and their ears shall hear. We have come far on the pilgrimage, and we can continue to have faith and hope. You have helped many of us not lose hope. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

